uncategorized

Pursuing public librarianship.

I want to pursue being a public librarian because with the concentration I’d like to focus on – Young Adult Services – I have two choices: public librarian or school librarian.

School librarians, from what I can tell, work in isolation from other librarians. There’s usually only one of them to service a whole school. I’d much rather work in a library with several other librarians on staff. Not only that, if the school is K-12, then they service an age group of kids that scare me.

Kids in full control of bodily functions and minimal crying jags are my preference, however I do enjoy a good storytelling hour…

20111108-005142.jpg

4 thoughts on “Pursuing public librarianship.

  1. I’ll look forward to following your blog! I was in your shoes this time last year.

    While I’m working on the Academic track, something I think I’d enjoy Public Librarianship too.

  2. I highly recommend informational interviews — contacting librarians already employed in your area of interest, and asking them questions about their job, what they like or don’t like, their educational background, how they got there, any advice they have for you, etc. Not only does it help you learn more about the profession, but it’s another way to network too.

    Looking forward to following your journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

