books

Book Bits: Quiet, Please.

Quiet, Please: Dispatches from a Public Librarian is the second book I’m reading to learn more about librarianship. I should keep a list on here about librarian-ish books I’ve read. I searched for the same type of list at the public library closest to me and was only able to find three books.

The author, Scott Douglas, is a public librarian in Anaheim who has an interesting sense of humor. I’ve giggled a few times while reading about his experiences. One such instance was on page 61. Douglas felt out of place at library school because he was 23 and everyone else was 35+ who “all seemed to be in the midst of a midlife crisis and in dire need of a career change.”

Now maybe some folks might take offense to his comment, but I’ll be turning 35 on my next birthday and it’s hilarious to me…and applies.

I may have said too much. 🙂

20111123-132252.jpg

8 thoughts on “Book Bits: Quiet, Please.

  1. Funny that…

    …most of the staff at the library where I work are over 35, with the exception of one, who is just out of library school. Interestingly, she’s also the most clueless about what happens at the library: a sweet young woman otherwise. But I’m glad to hear that there are others like Douglas out there. 🙂

    By the way, I’m 42, and have only been working at a library for the last two years.

      • Before this, I’d been in the newspaper business for 15 years, mostly with weekly newspapers. I don’t know if I wanted to become a librarian, but I sort of fell into it when I put in an application there and was accepted. It’s a part-time job, but it’s probably one of the best jobs I’ve ever had. I’ve always enjoyed books and now I get to share my love for them with others.

  2. I started library school at 24, but I often looked around and thought, “Wow, this place is proof that age doesn’t matter.” There were some brilliant, mature young people and some completely clueless older folks. And vice versa.

Leave a Reply

