academic libraries

Thinking about academic libraries.

When I was in undergrad, I started off with one major but graduated with a different one. I don’t want to make that mistake with getting my MLS. Even though I have already elected Young Adult Services as my specialization, I plan on staying flexible.

I’m clear on what area I would enjoy working at in a public library and also a special library, but what about an academic library where most of the available jobs seem to be?

Reference (traditional & virtual), instruction, and information literacy.

This seems like the most natural place for me to be with my experience in teaching.

I’m going to have to get like a billion jobs, internships, and volunteer positions so I can get experience in all of these areas. I’m up for the challenge. 🙂

20111220-232227.jpg

7 thoughts on “Thinking about academic libraries.

  1. You’re definitely up for the challenge! It’s exciting to be on your end! Well, one semester into library school, I’m still excited! Can’t wait to volunteer at the reference desk next semester!

  2. You are coming to Bloomington right? In the summer track down Carrie Donovan and send her an email with your resume and letting her know you have teaching experience. She is the head of teaching and learning at the Herman B Wells library. They are in charge of all the library instruction sessions. They only hire IA’s (instruction assistants) in the fall, so it is important to jump on it before you actually get here. I am an IA, I love it. It is great experience. And its a job! Good luck. (We’re gonna know each other by the time you get here!)

  3. I think it’s always good to keep an open mind. I specialized in youth services and while I still want to go that way, I ended up at an academic library. I quite like it, too! I say get experience in each library (volunteering, interning, etc) and see which feels right.

Leave a Reply

