librarian fashion / library jobs / public libraries

Circulation jobs with AACPL (Part III).

My interview for the circulation job at AACPL was on January 10th. I couldn’t gauge whether or not I made a good impression, but I did feel comfortable with a majority of the answers I gave during the panel interview. If I could do it again, I’d change one of my responses. When asked about recommending a good book to a patron, I should have added that I would refer them to the reference desk.

*Smacks forehead*

Are you curious to know what I wore during the interview? The women on the panel all had on comparable outfits, so I didn’t feel overdressed. 20120110-221552.jpg

I find out January 20th if I am selected for the position so if I don’t blog about it again it’s because I didn’t get the job.

9 thoughts on “Circulation jobs with AACPL (Part III).

  1. Glad to hear you were mostly satisfied with your interview. I felt the same way when I interviewed for my position. The panel just asked questions and took notes…no “extra” conversation, so it was hard to know what they really thought. The waiting part is the worst! I hope it works out for you though.

    Cute outfit! šŸ™‚

    • That taking note thing must be standard. If I hadn’t been so nervous, I would have felt like a celebrity the way they were writing everything down. I wonder what the notes said. I had about ten minutes to look over the questions and I wrote notes of my own, but I wasn’t allowed to keep the questions…

      Thank you.

  2. Looking smart Evelyn! Fingers crossed you got the job! It’s always hard to judge if you impressed them enough – at least it is for me because I’m so darn nervous during interviews. Now the hardest part: waiting for an answer.

  3. Hi Evelyn,

    Best of luck with the job prospect. Just in case you didn’t do this already, you can contact the search committee head and let her/him know that you’ve been thinking about that one question about recommending a good book to a patron… Expand on your original answer and tell them the importance of the reference desk. It shows you are motivated, interested and that you keep thinking about the issues.

    Best!

  4. Pingback: Book Bits: Same Difference. | Librarian Dreams

  5. Pingback: Last Two Days… | Highly Textured Librarian

Leave a Reply

