books / library / poetry / reading

One Chapter, One Poem: Mosley, Nikogosian, and Brown.

One Chapter, One Poem is a book review of sorts. It’s kind of like the Gong Show, where I read only the beginning of a book, and decide if it’s intriguing enough to continue reading. All of the books were borrowed from a public library.

20120723-085232.jpg

Walter Mosley’s latest publication is actually two novels in one, called The Gift of Fire/On the Head of a Pin. When I started reading The Gift of Fire, I didn’t stop reading it until chapter five. I recommended it to my Twitter Book Club too, and since I’m leading the discussion, I have to finish reading it. That’s not to say that I wouldn’t finish it without the TBC, it just means that I’ll read it faster than I normally would. I’m going to buy this book.

20120723-085358.jpg

I picked up Return to Beauty because I was looking for natural ideas on how to cleanse my face and deep condition my hair. Now the way this book is set up, it was difficult for me to follow the read-one-chapter-and-decide-whether-to-dump-it format. It structured in a way that people with oily skin only need to read certain pages, for the particular season they happen to be in. Despite that, I read what recipes I should make during the summer and also the fall, then jumped around to the hair recipes. This book would be a handy tool to keep year round, but I will return it to the library when the due date rolls around.

20120723-090527.jpg

Please is a collection of poems that I heard about quite sometime before getting a copy from the library. I even heard some of the poems read via YouTube and enjoyed it, so I’m not sure why I hadn’t picked it up sooner. It’s broken up into four sections, and I read the first one, “Pause”, before I took one. (Pun intended, even if it isn’t funny.) The poem titled “Autobiography” stood out above the rest in that section. It’s safe to say I’ll finish Brown’s collection.

5 thoughts on “One Chapter, One Poem: Mosley, Nikogosian, and Brown.

  1. I don’t know that author, but would you review Gary Renard’s book The Disappearance of the Universe?
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

