library association / library school

Student Groups at UMD

After reading up on the refund check policies on the Bursar’s website, I found myself looking for student groups I could join once school starts.

The first one I noticed was a student chapter of the ALA. However, to join the student chapter, you need to be a member of the ALA. I’ve been advised by several people to take advantage of the student rate, so I went ahead and paid the membership fees, then filled out a form for the student chapter, and BAM! I’m a member of both now.

Another group I’m interested in is the Black Graduate Student Association. I’m sure there will be a few members that attend the graduate reception next week, so I can find out more about the group then.

I may already be a member of iDiversity, but I’m not sure. I went to one of their meetings and signed up to receive emails about future events, but I guess that doesn’t necessarily make me a member.

Trying to stay busy. 🙂

20120819-223452.jpg

5 thoughts on “Student Groups at UMD

  1. It’s good that you’re getting involved at the beginning. I’m getting involved in a student group for the first time since I started grad school (and I’ve already been here 1.5 years). I’m not the most social person, so I’m hoping the experience will not only benefit me professionally, but also help me to get to know some more people before I graduate.

  2. You won’t regret joining. But also, you’ll get out of it what you want. Join the listservs and if you have ideas for your student chapter, speak up. It’s very fulfilling to see the finished product of something that was your idea or something you’ve created.

Leave a Reply

