books / reading

This Is How You Win Her

As you might remember from a previous post, I went to the 2012 National Book Festival, hosted by the Library of Congress. I saw a lot of my favorite poets and authors, and met a few new ones too.

Well, in the library spirit of sharing information, I’m going to give away a signed copy of This Is How You Lose Her, by Junot Díaz.

20120924-133621.jpg

So, how do you win this book?

1. Leave a comment below explaining why you want the book.
2. Refer to number one.

That’s it!

The contest ends October 26th. Each comment will be assigned a number and then I’ll use www.random.org to select the winner. I’ll announce the winner on October 31st.

Good luck.

20120924-141950.jpg

14 thoughts on “This Is How You Win Her

  1. I think I deserve a copy of this Book for the following reasons;
    1. I adore Books and reading
    2. I’ve never heard of the Author before…
    3. If Evelyn says He’s good, then He must be
    4. I read an interview with the Author and it seems like a Book I’d really enjoy
    5. When I win the Book, reading it shall take precedence over the other 8 Books I have queued up
    6. Once read the Book will be lovingly raved about and take pride of place on my soon to be replaced Bookshelf
    7. It’d be a really cool Birthday gift from Evelyn to me!

  2. Pick me! Pick me! I want this copy because I live vicariously through you when you attend events such as these, and actually holding one of these in my hands will make the experience so much more. 😉 No, seriously, I love Junot Díaz’s writing, have read all of his books and essays, and even dreamt about him giving me this very book.

  3. I would like this book because a) Diaz is an Amazing Writer and I’ve heard nothing but good things about this novel and 2) I’m too poor to be able to buy it for myself at this time, lol.

    P.S. Cute top! : )

  4. I want to win the book because I can’t afford to own it otherwise at this point lol. And I loved all of your tweets about the book. And I love Junot Diaz as an author. I love what he has to say about the writing process. He’s realistic and inspiring!

  5. I want to win this book because I’ve never read this author before, AND because my monthly book allowance (set by me) has been exceeded. Yay for books!

  6. I want the book b/c 1) it’s signed and I go gaga over signed books and 2) so I can keep the signed copy and give my copy to me babysister. Never read Junot Diaz before but this book is beautiful. I’m impressed.

  7. I want to win the book because I love Junot Diaz. I’ve read the book on my Kindle already and I would be eternally grateful if I won!

  8. Ahhhhhh! Why I should win this book:

    1. I own two copies of The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. One copy is a paperback and the other is the UK audio version which is awesome!
    2. This book will look great next to those two copies.
    3. Because Junot Diaz is gorgeous. (It’s not a real reason but I had to say it.)
    4. I’ve heard some great things about this book and I’m going to read it no matter what.
    5. Even though I’m going to read it no matter what, I’m a broke college student who can’t afford to buy it right now.
    6. I’m a longtime reader of your blog.
    7. Because I love love love Junot Diaz’s writing and have a huge crush on him! 😀

  9. 1. I had the honor of seeing Junot Diaz in Miami. I’ve never read him before, but one of my favorite authors (Lidia Yuknavitch– Author of Chronology of Water and Dora) recommended this author. I have already purchased too many books this month, but would absolutely love to have a copy! I also have a lot of friends from the DR who are interested in this book too. After I’m finished, I could lend it out!
    2. refer to number 1

  10. Read this book on my iPad and I could not stop.. (I hate reading books)
    The book was so relevant to life at that point that I just fell in love with it. It would mean a lot for me if I win it

  11. I’m a latecomer to Junot Diaz and just “discovered” his works last month, but since then, I’ve read all three multiple times, scoured the Internet for interviews and any more tidbits of insight into and information about this phenomenal author. I think what resonates so deeply with me (and other Diaz fans) is his poetically stark portrayal of real, beautiful, and flawed men and women.

  12. I’d like to win this book for so many reasons! I’m just now hip to Mr. Díaz and love his way of drawing the read along for a journey. Also, I’m a writer and would love the chance to review this book and learn from a modern master. Also, because I have an insatiable appetite when it comes to books; can’t stop, won’t stop.

Leave a Reply

