special libraries

Special Library Tours

Ah. My first semester of library school is complete. The last few weeks were rough, but now I’m done and can relax a bit. Except I’m not totally relaxing because I’ve set up a few library tours at special libraries.

20121216-223432.jpg

I went to the a library inside of the National Museum of American History. It’s bigger than I expected, but I should have realized it would be since the museum itself is larger than the NMAfA. (I visited there a few weeks ago). I didn’t take any pictures inside the library, but on my way out, I stepped inside the NMAAHC Gallery and took a few. I’m sure you can imagine what I was thinking while I was in there.

20121216-225227.jpg

The Baltimore Art Museum’s library is in a separate building next to the museum, and like the Smithsonian libraries, you have to make an appointment before you visit.

20121216-231201.jpg

So far, special libraries are different from the other types of libraries because the people who utilize them are generally curators & researchers from the museum, the library staff is small, and job satisfaction seems to be high.

20121216-232048.jpg

That last point is important to me. Being happy with my job is what I really want.

I have one more tour set up this week and then I’ll relax for real. I’ve already started playing Skyrim again. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Special Library Tours

Leave a Reply

