books / reading

Creating My Own “Best of 2012 Reading List.”

After looking at so many different lists of the best books of 2012, I decided to create my own. I don’t often see the books that I liked the most being represented, so why not create a list where I – and you – can finally see them.

Best Fiction: This is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz

Best Poetry: Pepper Girl by Jonterri Gadson

Best Young Adult: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Best Picture Book: Each Kindness by Jacqueline Woodson

Best Graphic Novel: The Nao of Brown by Glyn Dillion

Best YA Graphic Novel: Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks

Best Non-Fiction: How To Be Black by Baratunde Thurston

Best Memoir: The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe

Best Fantasy: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Best Science Fiction: On the Head of a Pin by Walter Mosley

There are some other categories missing, but I didn’t read any in those categories, so I didn’t include them. Also, if I chose from all the books I read this year, and not just the ones  that were published in 2012, the list would be considerably different.

I need some recommendations for 2013. What books would you recommend I read?

tribesofhattie

 

P.S. Except for two, each book on this list I checked out at the library.

7 thoughts on “Creating My Own “Best of 2012 Reading List.”

  1. Great list! How To Be Black is a great book and deserves its spot on your list. Each Kindness and The Nao of Brown are both on my tbr list. Have you read Daytripper yet? I hope you’re enjoying your holiday break.

Leave a Reply

