books / library / reading

Black History & Library Lovers’ Month

You are probably aware that February is Black History Month, right? Yes, of course you are. But did you also know that February is Library Lovers’ Month too? I didn’t know about it until today, after seeing a few of the library folks I follow on Twitter discussing it.

So then the little hamster in my brain starts turning its wheel and I came up with a way to combine these two celebrations, and I’m going to challenge you to do the same. Here’s the challenge:

1. Visit any library.

2. Check out a book by a Black author or one about the Black Diaspora.

3. Read it.

Now, just to make it interesting and to satisfy my nosiness, take a picture of yourself with the book and put it on the internet somewhere (Twitter, Instagram, WordPress, Tumblr, etc.) and leave me the link in the comments. If at least five people participate, I’ll turn it into a contest where the winner will get a copy of Bloodchild and Other Stories by Octavia Butler.

20130204-150418.jpg

Are you down?

7 thoughts on “Black History & Library Lovers’ Month

Leave a Reply

