librarian / library

Nella Larsen: Librarian and Writer

nella larsen I don’t have a highly textured librarian to feature this month, but I found out that Nella Larsen was a librarian at NYPL in the 1920s, so I’m going to highlight her instead.

Nella Larsen, started volunteering at the 135th Street Library branch in 1921 and began substituting soon after. She was the first Black woman to graduate from NYPL Library School. Her highest salary was $150 a month before she resigned in 1926. Her first novel was Quicksand and her second was Passing (and I’ve read both of them).

I hope I can follow in her footsteps and be a librarian who writes two novels.

7 thoughts on “Nella Larsen: Librarian and Writer

Leave a Reply

