library / library school

Slamming the Boards

In my LBSC650 class, our final project is to complete something called slamming the boards. I don’t know if I’ll be able to describe it well but one thing is for sure, it’s the best assignment I’ve received in library school to date, with best equalling fun. We were actually given two final projects to choose from, but I didn’t choose the other one, so that’s a moot point.

In a nutshell when you slam the boards! you are visiting popular answer sites – I used Yahoo! Answers – and answering the questions people have, as if they were your patrons and had come up to the information desk to ask you as the librarian – or in my case, library student – for assistance. The idea behind it is that it meets potential library patrons where they are and it’s a great way to market the library.

I’m half way done with the assignment, but the reason why I found it fun is probably because of the point system Yahoo! Answers uses. I’m a sucker for points, and you get bonus points for your answer being selected as the best answer…and I’m a sucker for getting random confirmation that I’m a nerd.

So far two of my answers have been selected as the best one, this not surprisingly makes me feel like a reference rockstar.

yahooanswers1

4 thoughts on “Slamming the Boards

Leave a Reply

