books / library

Library Loot: July 17 – 23

Library Loot BadgeLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire fromThe Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

My summer reading list has been derailed. I had lofty ideas of creating a list of books to read during this season, but I keeping getting books not on my list and not finishing ones that were initially on it.

TheIntrovertsWayThis book was on display while I was at work, and I stared at it, until I finally picked it up. It’s broken up into short essays and after reading two during my break, I had to have it. I have a feeling that a lot of people who gravitate to libraries are introverts, myself included.

Another random book I found while working was White is for Witching. A student came in and asked for a young adult novel that was international. After she left I was still curious to find more books that fit that category and somehow ended up finding Helen Oyeyemi, who was born in Nigeria, but spent the bulk of her childhood in London. This book isn’t considered YA, and it wasn’t even the book of hers that I wanted to read. However it was in the library, so I ended up bringing it home with me.

icarus girlA few days later, I got this book from my holds list, which is the one I actually wanted from Oyeyemi. The cover is gorgeous, yes? I am stunned by the fact that she wrote this novel while still in what American’s would call high school, but is called A-levels in England.

Also in my holds list was volume two, three, and four of Y: The Last Man because after reading volume one, I knew I had to keep going.

What did you pick up this week?

11 thoughts on “Library Loot: July 17 – 23

  1. Y: The Last Man is one of my FAVORITE graphic series. I own them all. Enjoy! And bring tissues! And also maybe a neckbrace for those “WHAT?!?!?” moments so you don’t get whiplash.

Leave a Reply

