academic libraries / library school / public libraries / special libraries

Three Weeks Left: The Remix

One of the (four) visitors of my blog today viewed a post I wrote about a year ago. I reread it to see where my mind was back then. At that point, I was gearing up for my first year of library school and on the hunt for a part-time position in an academic library, so I could get experience at the three types of libraries I was interested in.

Back then I was leaning towards public libraries, guess where my head is now? Still public libraries. 🙂 However, I wouldn’t have been certain of that had I not worked in an academic library and talked with academic librarians. I’ve also had time to work in a special library, and while working at NMAAHC is still my dream job, I want to work in public libraries for at least five years. Basically I want to stay put until I get to the point where I feel like all my skills are solid (especially the supervisory ones).

Public libraries just fit me. Let me explain. It’s like when you are on an interview with a panel of people, and they are trying to figure out if you would be a good fit for the rest of the staff that’s already there. Imagine those people on the panel were each represented by one type of library (public, academic, special, and school). After the interview was over and they were discussing where I would be most useful, I believe the representative for public libraries would be the most vocal and would pick me. And I’d pick them too.

Kansas City Public Library

Kansas City Public Library

7 thoughts on “Three Weeks Left: The Remix

  1. I’m glad you are enjoying working in the public library. And you have your five year plan! 🙂 My mentor recently asked me where I saw myself in five years, and if I wanted to be in a supervisory or administrative position in the future. I honestly hadn’t thought it out yet. I still don’t quite know. :op

      • Oh I definitely see myself as being a medical librarian in 5 years. I hope to land my first professional medical librarian position in 1-2 years (depending on if I get the second year of this fellowship). But the specific setting…and how soon I want to move into a supervisory role is still to be determined.

Leave a Reply

