library school

The Digital Divide, Melanin, and Storytime

In the process of looking for articles for my final research paper in INST 613, I found a gap that I can slide into. There isn’t a lot of research done on LGBTQ patrons who are teenagers and sufficient in melanin. So I’m going to look at how they are effected by the digital divide.

Digital_Divide1

And because there isn’t a lot of research on it, my paper is going to be a bit more difficult, but it got me to thinking. Wait a minute, let me back up a second.

In my LBSC 620 class I did a diversity initiatives project where I surveyed how a public library system serves LGBTQ teens, and as far as library programs are concerned, there wasn’t anything available. But do you know what program is a winner at most libraries? Storytime! Are there any LGBTQ teen storytimes? Probably not (but if you know of one, please tell me). I totally should do a storytime for LGBTQ teens on YouTube.

Are there any copyright rules I’d be breaking if I read an excerpt of a novel online?

spooky eye

Yep, another random picture of Maxwell. It’s probably the last one. Probably.

12 thoughts on “The Digital Divide, Melanin, and Storytime

  1. Did you try looking up Library Juice (publishing company)– they have published things about LGBTQ librarians, wonder if any of it talks about teenagers. Also look to see if YALSA (ALA Committee) has additional info about how they serve LGBTQ teens. It’s got to be out there somewhere.

  2. Sounds like a wonderful idea to me. I did my master’s thesis on a novel that was published in 2008 with no criticism. At first I thought it would be a daunting task, then I realized the way to approach it was find literature like my novel and apply that criticism to it. You there might not be a lot about LGBTQ and libraries and color, but finding “criticism” about “others” in general will help you launch your thoughts. Hope this helps!

  3. Hey Evelyn! A friend of mine from grad school has done work with the public library in Greensboro about LGBTQ storytime but I’m not sure what age group this was geared towards. If you are interested I can get you her info and maybe she might be of some help.

Leave a Reply

