books / library school

My library class is looming.

I got an alert from ELMS – which is UMD’s version of Blackboard – that the syllabus and other knickknacks, are available for LBSC 646 (Literature and Materials for Young Adults) this spring semester. I searched my library’s catalog to see if I could check out the textbook instead of paying for it, but it wasn’t there and it’s not available on interlibrary loan either. Dang. UMD has the book at McKeldin, but I’ll probably end up renting it, so I can keep it for the whole semester.

parttimeindian

There’s going to be a lot of reading of YA fiction for this class: American Born Chinese, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian, Speak, The Outsiders and about fifteen more. Something I noticed on the syllabus is that it’s a hybrid class, so some of our meetings will be online only. Yay to cutting down on my commute. Plus, there aren’t any 20 page research papers for this class. 🙂 Seems like it’s going to be a fun class.

11 thoughts on “My library class is looming.

Leave a Reply

