library

Homework on Fan Fiction

The other title I wanted to name this post was “Where is the fan fiction on Octavia Butler’s books?” I’ll get to that part in a minute, first let’s address the homework. In my Information Policy class we have a paper (due Wednesday) we need to write addressing…stuff, information policy stuff. We had different options to choose from or we could have selected our own, but I don’t know enough about information policy to strike out with an original idea. I chose copyright, specifically concerning fan fiction because it was the only topic I could stir up a little fervor for.

I wasn’t aware that fan fiction was a thing. Outside of hearing about Fifty Shades of Grey being a modified version of fan fiction, I didn’t know how popular it is for some folks. After reading “The Boy Who Lived Forever,” I realized that I’ve written fan fiction before. When I was in undergrad, I frequently visited this online forum – called Suite 508 – that was for Maxwell fans, and one of the things we would do is make up funny stories about him that included us as characters. Maxwell was still himself in a lot of the stories, but he was also a vampire, a ninja, and anything else we could think of.

Anyway, so during my research process I became curious to see if anyone on FanFiction.net wrote stories about any of Octavia Butler’s novels or stories. The answer is not really. Using her name in the search box pulled up four hits only (compared to 1,039 when you use J.K. Rowling or 69,822 when you use Harry Potter). I wonder how she would feel about fan fiction. Would she be happy her characters lived on or feel like they were being stolen from her?

Time to get back to this information policy paper. *sigh*

from Speak.Collaborate.Listen

from Speak.Collaborate.Listen

 

2 thoughts on “Homework on Fan Fiction

  1. Pingback: A Little Bit of Morrison Redeems | Librarian Dreams

  2. I could fill up your blog about my previous life as a Harry Potter fan fiction writer. From middle school to my freshmen year of college, I had novel length stories. I was also involved in a storyboard kind of like you and Maxwell, but it was for Immature and Imajin (remember them?).

    I love fan fiction because it meant a) fans were so in love with the characters that they wanted to continue the story and b) like any other craft, you have to imitate. In the same way painters practice Monet and musicians imitate chord progressions, writers learn by copying the masters.

    That’s what made me slow down with Anne Rice. She’s (was?) very against fan fiction. And I understand as a writer they’re your characters, your hard work, but jeez, it was the late 90s, no one was making any money from it.

Leave a Reply

