books / reading

Summer Reading List 2014

Last year I created a summer reading list for myself because there are billions of books that I want to read, and not enough time to read them all. I didn’t do so well on that list. Out of sixteen books, I finished three.

*Womp, womp*

I’m going to narrow my list down to ten in hopes of improving my success. No, that’s not cheating at all.

Young Adult

  • The Summer Prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson
  • Zero Fade  by Chris Terry

Short Story Collections

  • Unexpected Stories by Octavia E. Butler
  • Stories of Your Life and Others byTed Chiang

Novels

  • Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill
  • The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly by Sun-Mi Hwang

Poetry

  • Don’t Let Me Be Lonely: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine
  • King Me by Roger Reeves

Non-fiction

  • Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay
  • What Poets are Like: Up and Down with the Writing Life by Gary Soto

Do you have any recommendations for me?

9 thoughts on “Summer Reading List 2014

  1. Pingback: Thinking Ahead | Librarian Dreams

  2. Pingback: Seven Bullets and a Bubble | Librarian Dreams

Leave a Reply

