library

Blackout Poetry

blackout poetry example

I’m in the planning stages of a passive program for teens, an idea I got from some of the other branches within AACPL, and of course, Austin Kleon.

 I’m using pages from discarded books and running them through the Accucut machine. The teens can then block out the words they don’t want, and then…here’s my first problem, I don’t know what comes after then. 

The first idea I had was to then have the teens tape them to a pre-cut square of construction paper, but I wish I could have a better border/portrait situation. Oh well, I’ll think of something, probably. 

2 thoughts on “Blackout Poetry

    • That would be doable if the teens are willing to leave their finished results. What I need though is a cheap frame to put them in, so they’ll make the car ride home and not end up in the trash.

Leave a Reply

