library

We engage from within our bodies

“If you are a citizen…”

andrea blancas beltran

Metta Sáma’s powerful blog post last week began:

This morning I opened the door to a man whose name I did not know.

Metta concluded this post with a link to her words on a project in which Harvey L. Hix “asked poets to respond to a quote by Adorno and one by Auden.” Metta writes:

I sat with these quotes for weeks, wondering if this was a battle I wanted to fight. I did. & I did.

Her rumination resonates even more this morning:

                       …I say in service of themselves to indicate the

ways in which the founding of the United States un-

humanized de-humanized women un-humanized de-

humanized indigenous peoples un-humanized de-humanized

enslaved Africans

I encourage you to immerse yourself in her writing this morning. Simmer in the truth of her grandmother and how Metta identifies the…

View original post 585 more words

One thought on “We engage from within our bodies

Leave a Reply

