library

Drawn Between the World and Ordinary Light

Last week the National Book Foundation announced their longlists in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young adult literature.

nf_nba2015pg

I plan to go through each list of books and place holds on the ones that seem the most interesting. Once they announce the winners, the hold list usually doubles or triples, so I like to get a head start. In the nonfiction category, I’ve already read Ordinary Light and Between the World and Me. I’d be happy if either one of them won the award, but I have a feeling that Coates’ book will win. I don’t normally read nonfiction, but Love and Other Ways of Dying might be worth a read, along with Hold Still.

poetry_nba2015pg

In the poetry category, I have to root for How to Be Drawn since Terrance Hayes was my poetry workshop leader at Hurston/Wright Writers’ Week, but also because I haven’t read any of the other books on the list. I’m adding Voyage of the Sable Venus, Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude, and Heaven to my TBR pile. I tried requesting these already, but my library doesn’t own them, and they are too new to request via interlibrary loan.

It’s a shame I haven’t read any of the books on the fiction or young adult list. I’m going to wait until they announce the finalists before I add them to my hold list, though I do know I want to read The Turner House. NBF announces the finalists on October 14, 2015.

Have you read some of the books I haven’t? Which ones are the best?

6 thoughts on “Drawn Between the World and Ordinary Light

  1. I’ve read books from the YA list. The Turner House, X: A Novel, and Between the World and Me are a few that are on my tbr list. Nimona and Bone Gap (YA list) are two pretty good reads.

Leave a Reply

