books

Readers’ Advisory: The Skin I’m In

I was asked last week for picture book recommendations that deal with skin color. Not one book popped into my head, except for The Skin I’m In by Sharon Flake, but that is more of a middle grade book. 


When I searched the catalog, I could only find a handful of books, and the one that was at my branch wasn’t the right fit because it dealt with interracial relationships.


 I looked at the rest of the choices, searching specifically for #ownvoices writers and only one book was available. 


Where are the picture books to read to your child who is just beginning to receive derogatory remarks about their skin color – from an author who has experienced it first hand? 

 

One thought on “Readers’ Advisory: The Skin I’m In

  1. Pingback: Readers’ Advisory: The Skin I’m In — Highly Textured Librarian | The Eclectic Kitabu Project

Leave a Reply

