professional development

Is This the End?

It’s the end of the year and I should be reflective, especially since I only have a few days left of being a librarian. And that’s what this blog is about, me and my experiences in being a librarian and other librarian-ish things. [Cues up New Edition’s “Is This the End“.]

So now that I’m switching gears and entering the archival world, is maintaining my blog necessary? Maybe misleading is a better word than necessary. Misleading in the sense that I’m not a librarian anymore. That is the question I’m wrestling with, am I still a librarian if I work in archives? 

When I was in library school there was an archival specialization, and as far as I know there’s no graduate degree in archives. So is an archivist a synonym for librarian? I mean, clearly they do different things, but the fundamentals are similar. 

I’m sure it’ll be harder to explain my job now, because how many people visit archives? But I bet you’ve been to a library at some point in your life and have an idea of what goes on there. Oh dang, I think I may have just questioned myself into a reason to maintain this blog. 

11 thoughts on “Is This the End?

  1. Please keep blogging! I want to know what an archivist does! 😊plus I want to hear about your adventures! And I would definitely say that an archivist is a type of librarian!

  2. You’re still a librarian, no matter where you work. πŸ™‚
    Which archives will you be working for? You can email me if you don’t want to answer publicly.
    Good luck!

  3. There are indeed grad programs in archives, though the specific names vary — it’s a Master of Archives & Records Management at Western Washington University, Master of Archives & Public History at NYU, and Master of Archival Studies at Clayton State, just to look at three.

    I only took one archives class in library school, but just from that small glimpse into the world of archives, it seemed like quite a different beast, with more of a focus on preservation than on universal access. I’m excited to learn more as you dive deeper into your job, though! Congrats on the new gig!

  4. I started with my toes in the archival world and then switched to librarianship. I think they are related but definitely different. Certainly not interchangeable. Either way, congratulations and I look forward to reading about your adventures!

  5. I also started in archives world and became a librarian. I ultimately decided to keep my blog url (manuscript mania) but changed the the site title. However, I think you should keep the blog and the site name. πŸ™‚ I don’t think we hear as much from LIS professionals who switch between tracks in LIS and your voice is important. Plus, librarians work in archives too!

Leave a Reply

