NARA

It Begins

It’s only been a few days at the new job, but I have a better idea of what I’m doing now. I was so hyped during the interview process that even though I heard the details, I didn’t understand what I was hearing. 

So basically, the essence of what I do is assist people with their research and make sure the documents they use aren’t destroyed in the process.

The documents are very old, it feels like time travel when you read them. And what’s great about these records is that anyone can access them as long as you have a research card and are willing to put in the time to do the research. A lot of the records are in cursive, so be prepared for that. Penmanship must have been extremely important. (I’m sharing the typed documents so it’s easier to read.) 

Not the big toe, but the great toe.

I still have lots to learn and I’ll share the interesting bits as I experience them. Oh, here’s one thing: I have a new pet bird that keeps me company at my desk. 

What’s your name?


Random tidbit: It’ll be great when I can maneuver the building without getting lost. Stacks on stacks on stacks. 

Another slice of random: A second job that I interviewed for offered me a position and even though I had already accepted my current job, I was still happy to receive the offer. 

6 thoughts on “It Begins

  1. I am so proud of you! You have always been sought after by agencies of high stature πŸ‘πŸΎ. It’s a good thing to get more exercise and experience that challenge you everyday. Know your greatness! Stand up in it daily πŸ‘ŒπŸΎThe Source is with you wherever you are πŸ™πŸΎ

Leave a Reply

