professional development

I Hub U

This week I’m being trained in the Innovation  Hub, where researchers come to create digital scans of military pensions and service records. Most of the documents are from the Civil War, but I also worked with some documents from the War of 1812. 

The role of the folks who work in the Hub is to assist researchers with scanning their documents, showing them how to use the equipment, pulling & refiling from the stacks, and making sure the documents are being handled properly, among other things. 


When researchers complete the scans, we collect metadata and double check the scans (and modify them when necessary) before sending them to the catalogers, who make the documents available online. ​


Researchers receive a free copy of the digized documents they make and then anyone with an internet connection can access the documents online. 

I’ve appreciated my time in the Hub, especially since it gave me more practice navigating the stacks. The more practice I get, the less I get completely lost in there. 🤓

Leave a Reply

