books / poetry

Poetry in Twelve (Part II)

Boo! 🎃👻

In the initial post I stopped at March, but here we are all the way in October, so it’s time for an update.

The book of poetry I bought next was I’m So Fine by Khadijah Queen. It’s a collection of prose poems – of which I am a big fan – detailing her life in Los Angeles and the different levels of harassment she experienced from men. While reading this book, I recalled  moments from my life that mirrored hers.

I bought Beastgirl & Other Origin Myths for May.  I didn’t know much about Elizabeth Acevedo before I bought this book, but Yes Yes Books publishes solid work and the poets I follow on Twitter said positive things. I wasn’t disappointed.

Next up, I read Counting Descent, which was published back in 2016. It’s unfortunate that it took me so long to get to Smith’s collection because it’s really good. After I read it, I wanted to reread it instantly, in the hopes that I could channel it into my own poetry.

I read a few poetry books that I got from the library, like Bestiary, Of Being Dispersed, and Simulacra – I’ll buy at least one of those eventually. What did I buy for July? I’ll tell you after I finish binging Stranger Things.  

Leave a Reply

