books / poetry

Summer Reading List: The Poetry Edition

I’ve seen a lot of summer reading lists, but I haven’t seen many that focus strictly on poetry. Quite naturally, I had to create one myself.

1. Citizen: An American Lyric, by Claudia Rankine.

2. The BreakBeat Poets, edited by Kevin Coval, Quraysh Ali Lansana, and Nate Marshall. 

3. Head Off & Split, by Nikky Finney.

4. Honest Engine, by Kyle Dargan.

5. Lighting the Shadow, by Rachel Eliza Griffiths.

6. Digest, by Gregory Pardlo.

7. Thrall, by Natasha Trethewey.

8. What We Ask of Flesh, by Remica L. Bingham.

9. How to Be Drawn, by Terrance Hayes.

Leaving it at nine because everyone does ten. 🙂

I’ve read 1,3, and 4 on this list already, and hope to read at least two more before the summer is done. I tried to pick books that were published in 2015 (or 2014), but hit a wall. Which ones did I miss?

7 thoughts on “Summer Reading List: The Poetry Edition

  1. I recently read Teeth and Kingdom Animalia by Aracelis Girmay and absolutely loved them – they’re older than 2014, but worth a read nonetheless.

  2. Oo, thanks for this. I’ve only recently been getting into poetry though I’m gravitating more towards female poets than male at the moment. I would love recommendations if you have any.

  3. Pingback: Revisiting Poetry Posts | Highly Textured Librarian

Leave a comment